Experienced Virginia DUI Lawyers
Virginia is tough on driving under the influence of alcohol or intoxicants, so if you’ve been arrested for a DUI or DWI in Virginia you need to contact an experienced Virginia DUI Lawyer as soon as possible.
Virginia DUI Lawyer David Long has represented numerous clients charged with DUI or DWI in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Virginia has a lot of complex DUI laws and having legal representation from an experienced Virginia DUI Lawyer is important when defending yourself against DUI charges.
Excellent DUI Attorney
Mr. Long did an amazing job of preparing my defense case when all things were looking bad against me. He came prepared with information and documentation that would be the deciding factor that would help us win in trial and keep me out of jail. ~Phil January, 2018
If you’ve never had a DUI or DWI, you might not realize that it’s not a traffic violation. You’ll be arrested, taken to the police station, and required to go to court. If you want to plead innocent and fight the charge, you will want to Richmond DUI lawyer David Long to defend you.
Driving Under The Influence in the Commonwealth of Virginia is prohibited by Virginia Code Section 18.2-266 and is a criminal offense. It can be very intimidating when dealing with the police, prosecutors and the courts. In Virginia, you can be arrested for drunk driving if there is probable cause, which is often gathered from police field sobriety tests. Furthermore, the Penalties for a DUI conviction can be devastating and significantly affect your lifestyle, particularly if either a Breath Test or Blood Test indicates a high blood alcohol content (BAC).
DUI Arrest First Offense in Virginia
A first-offense DUI with a Blood Alcohol Concentration of .15 but less than .21 carries a mandatory minimum of 5 days in jail and an ignition interlock for at least 6 months, in addition to the penalties already described above. Likewise, if your BAC is greater than .21, there is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of 10 days and an ignition interlock requirement.
DUI Arrest Second Offense in Virginia
Individuals charged with a second DUI that has occurred within ten years of the previous DUI will incur a higher mandatory minimum jail sentence.
DUI Arrest Third Offense in Virginia
A third DUI conviction is a felony in Virginia.
Virginia DUI Attorney David Long is committed to helping individuals arrested for DUI / Drinking and Driving while intoxicated and he will attempt to find a legal problem with the case that results in a not guilty verdict or reach a resolution that results in a reduced charge; saving you from some of the punishments and requirements of a DUI conviction.
Our Virginia DUI attorneys will thoroughly look into several important factors of your DUI arrest, such as:
- The legality of the traffic stop: Was the police officer justified in stopping you in the first place? Or might harassment or discrimination have been involved in the stop?
- The validity and reliability of the blood or breath test, if you submitted one: Had the Breathalyzer been properly maintained and calibrated?
- Mitigating circumstances: Was there some other explanation to account for erratic behavior that led the police officer to the conclusion that you were driving under the influence— perhaps a diabetic condition or other medical emergencies?